About Us

  • PDF

The Department of Public Administration emerged as a separate discipline from June 1985, after getting bifurcated from the Department of Political Science and Public Administration. When the Department of Public Administration became an independent unit, it was headed by Dr. R. Stephen Samuel and its faculty members included Dr. M. Suresh Babu (formerly UGC Emeritus Professor), Dr. S. Jeevanandham, Dr. P. Ebenezer Benjamin, Dr. D. William Gnanasekaran and  Dr. P. Kingsley Alfred Chandrasekaran.

The department has successfully produced 46 Ph.D scholars. The department has completed 25 years and is in the way of celebrating its Silver jubilee year. As a mark of Silver jubliee, the department has established an Internal Quality Assessment Cell (IQAC) for its own on 11th August 2011, to ensure high quality of education to its students and further strengthen academic excellence of the department. A “Research and Publication Unit” has been formed for the purpose of encouraging the faculty and students of the department in research activities and for writing research papers. The department offers 22 subjects at post-graduate level, for a total of 100 credits. The department offers M.A., M.Phil and Ph.D programmes.

You are here: About Us