Tamil

About Us

The Department of Tamil was established in 1968. It was a part of the vernacular departments since 1871. It has the pride of having had such great Tamil stalwarts such as Parithimar Kalaignar, Maraimalai Adigal, S.D. Sugumar and P. Alala Sundaram on the faculty. The department offers many job oriented and currently relevant subjects such as Journalism and Mass Communication and Dramatics at the Undergraduate level and Computer in Tamil Research and Linguistics, Folkloristics and Modern Christian Literature at the Postgraduate level. The department also offers Tamil language under Foundation Courses, Basic Tamil for students who have not studied Tamil and Advanced Tamil for students (who have done +2 Tamil) not studying Tamil under Part-1.

Programmes Offered

B.A., M.A., M.Phil. Ph.D

Faculty

P. David Prabhakar

Head of the Department
davidprabhakar@mcc.edu.in
More Detail

P. George

george@mcc.edu.in
More Detail

N. Ilango

ilango@mcc.edu.in
More Detail

D. Meshak

meshak@mcc.edu.in
More Detail

N. Kanikkaraju

kanikkai76@mcc.edu.in
More Detail

J. Sudarvizhi

sudarvizhi@mcc.edu.in
More Detail

S. Sathasivam

sathasivam@mcc.edu.in
More Detail

S. Muthukandhan

muthukandhan@mcc.edu.in
More Detail
X