About Us

The Department of Physics (SFS) was founded in  2003. The Department aims at sustaining an environment of in-depth theoretical knowledge, reasoning, skill development, generation of new ideas and practical application. Problem-based approaches and modern teaching methods are used. We offer an up-to-date curriculum complemented by choice in allied and elective papers. Students are required to do a project in the final year. Elective courses focus on overall professional development by teaching leadership and communication skills. The Department has five faculty members having expertise in various fields, such as Spectroscopy, Molecular Physics, Material Science, Computational Physics, Energy Physics and Medical Physics.

Programmes Offered

B.Sc Physics



Dr.T. Hannah Clara

Head of the Department
More Detail

Dr.J. Christina Jebapriya
More Detail

S. Ponnancy
More Detail

S. Wilfred Prasanna
More Detail

K.M. Freny Joy
More Detail

Student Clubs

Student cleared IIT – JAM Exam under our Curriculum

Students Pursuing Higher Education Abroad


S.No Name of the student Batch details passed out University/College Masters details
1. Ashwin Manohar 2015 University of Bonn-Germany MS- Astrophyiscs
  Ganesh 2012 University of Greenwich – UK MBA
2. Godwin 2017-2018 University Of Southampton MS in Physics
3. Anjana 2017-2018 Freie University Berlin, Germany MS in physics
4. Aarthi 2019-2020 Cardiff metropolitan university –UK MBA
5. Jeffrey Nithi 2018-19 University of Stuttgart MS in Energy
6. Karan 2019 -2020 Universitat Tubingen- Germany Master Astro and particle physics
7. Yuvraj 2020-2021 University of Potsdam- Germany Masters in Astrophysics
8. Varun 2020-2021 University of Surrey- UK MS in Physics
9. Ajoy 2020-2021 University of Surrey- UK MS in Physics

Carrier Prospects in B.Sc., Physics

  • M.Sc. Physics
  • M.Sc. Biophysics
  • M.Sc. Astrophysics
  • M.Sc. Material Science
  • Research Assistant
  • MBA in Data Science
  • MSW
  • MCA
  • MBA in IT
  • M.Sc. Medical Physics
  • M.Sc. Radiology
  • M.Sc. Space Engineering
  • M.Sc. Forensic Scicnce
  • M.Sc. Nuclear Physics
  • M.Sc. Electronic Science
  • M.Sc. Theoretical Physics
  • M.Sc. Instrumentation

Our Students are placed in



Suther Land  


Award Winners

( II B.Sc. Physics) for Start up


The Department of Physics SFS organised two field visits to Kavalur Observatory on 1.09.22 and to Kodaikanal solar observatory on 13.10.2022 to motivate and teach the practical knowledge of Physics to General Elective paper-Astrophysics.


The Department has various active clubs like the Astrophysics Club, Computational Club, Sports Club, Women’s Club, Service Club, Art and Craft Club, Undergraduate Research Club and Department Forum with 14 student leaders to develop the interpersonal and academic skills of the students.


The Department of Physics (SFS) and Tamil Nadu Science Forum, South Chennai District jointly organized the 30th National Children’s Science Congress 2022 on 27th November 2022 at Madras Christian College. The event was inaugurated by Dr Indhumathi, Honorary President of TNSF, South Chennai and the Valedictory Address was delivered by Dr Paul Wilson, Principal  & Secretary, Madras Christian College. In this congress, the school students from 35 schools showcased their projects focusing on the theme “Understanding ECO System for Health & Wellbeing”. The projects presented by the students have been evaluated by the panel of adjudicators, and prizes were distributed. Winners were selected for state-level competition.


The Department conducted a CANSAT workshop in association with Blackhole space tech on 9th February 2023. Prof. R.R.Elangovan, Former Scientist ISRO, Mr Nandan TG Co-founder & Chairman, and Ms Dipti Ramesh , Co-founder & CEO trained around 25 students to design a satellite



The Department of Physics and The Department of Chemistry jointly organized a seminar on “Thin layer approach for energy applications” in association with MCC-R&D on 9th February 2023. Dr.Francis Gourbilleau, Deputy Director of Research, CIMAP has delivered the lecture and encourage the students to focus on ideas and develop it.


On account of Ramanujam Birthday Celebration, Seminar and Discussion on Astronomy was organized by Department of Physics (SFS), Astrophysics Club in association with TASS. Mr. Joseph Prabhakar, State Resource Person (TASS) & Lecturer , CPT , Chennai , delivered a lecture on” Mathematics and Astrophysics” and Mr.Jayamurugan , TASS, scientific Officer , SAIL, Salem, sang Astrophysics songs to kindle the interest of the students towards astronomy.


Ramanujam Birthday Celebration on 22nd Dec 2022

An interview with Alumni on behalf of Astro club was arranged with Mr. Yuvraj who is pursuing his M.S (Astro Physics) in University of Postdom, Germany on 13th December 2022 and Karan Sager who is pursuing his M.S (Astro Physics & Particle Physics) in University of Tubingen, Germany on 4th January 2023 through online mode to give an exposure on Astronomy Simulations and LATEX writing.


The service club of Department of Physics (SFS) in association with SWAWSA MCC helped to give the needy by having stalls of the craft club and with  GTS organisation conducted an Christmas outreach program on 23rd December 2022 at Madambakkam and enjoyed the pleasure of giving by serving needy.


Star party was conducted from (7.09.23-09.01.23) in association with TASS in various places and on 9.01.23 it was conducted in MCC. The event focused on promoting and popularizing Astronomy among students and public. Nearly 3000 public were benefited and around 56 students from our Department worked as volunteers. The Department arranged for sky watch from 6 pm through telescope in QSC the event has been published in The Hindu English paper. This eventually helped us to associate with TASS for Moon party from (25.02.23-28.02.23) from evening 6-9pm in various locations of Chennai around 10,000 public participated and the same was broadcasted in podhigai TV.


The third year students were given Placement Training Workshop from 29th August – 3rd September by Dr.V. AnuRangjani, Associate Professor, Bharat Institute of higher education and research and by MRF.

Symban meaning a big event is an annual interschool and intercollegiate (curricular and cultural) event conducted by the Department every year. In Interschool events around ten School participated and in intercollegiate events around 29 colleges participated it was a grand success and the overall trophy was won by Loyola College.

 Inter school event on 12.01.23


Inter collegiate event on 24.01.23

  1. Best out going student of MCC – For the consecutive three years three of our students Nambirajan (2006-2009 batch) Students General Secretary of MCC , Tamil udhayan (2018-2021 batch) Students General Secretary of MCC and Anusha G (2019-2023 batch) has won the best out going students award.