Geography, Tourism & Travel Management

About Us

The Department of Geography, Tourism and Travel Management started its journey in the year 2005. The curriculum includes the papers of both Geography and Tourism in each semester. It covers all the branches of Geography and recent concepts of Geographic Information System (GIS). Innovative papers like logistics in tourism, travel forms and regulations are included in Tourism category, and GIS and Remote Sensing are included in Geography category. UGC Funded B.Voc Hospitality and Tourism Course was introduced in the year 2014.

The Department has a well-stocked library and State-of-the-art computer laboratory. Technical papers are taught in all the three fields every semester. Department offers verbal foreign language training to students (French, German and Korean) to improve their skills. Educational trips and field visits are mandatory for the students.

Programmes Offered

B.Sc Geography, Tourism and Travel Management

Admission

Faculty

S. Eswari

Head of the Department
eswari@mcc.edu.in
More Detail

P. Subashini

psubashini@mcc.edu.in
More Detail

P. Niranjini

niranjini@mcc.edu.in
More Detail

Yasodharan Suresh

yasodharansuresh@mcc.edu.in
More Detail

V. Sobhana Devi

sobhanadevi@mcc.edu.in
More Detail

Jyothish Sebastian

jsebastian@mcc.edu.in
More Detail

S. Sivakami

sivakami@mcc.edu.in
More Detail

P. Velmurugan

velmurugan@mcc.edu.in
More Detail

Obed Jackson

obedjackson@mcc.edu.in
More Detail

Highlights of the programme

  • Understand the basic concepts of Geography and Tourism and their role in society.
  • Prepare Tour itinerary and costing of the Tour
  • Understand the behaviour of the customer
  • Understand the role of technology in Geography and Tourism
  • Develop the skill of designing a Map
  • Analyze the importance of Tourism Spots in the world
  • Understand the types and role of travel agent and tour operator with their services
  • Develop the skills of a diagrammatic representation of data
  • Enhance communication and presentation skills
  • Understand the concepts of IATA Geography and Global Indicators for Air Ticketing
  • Develop the skill of preparing Airway Bill
  • Understand the positive and negative impact of tourism on the destination
X