The Department of Tamil was established in 1968. It was part of the vernacular departments since 1871. It has the pride of having had such great Tamil stalwarts as Parithimar Kalaignar, Maraimalai Adigal, S.D. Sugumar and P. Alala Sundaram on the faculty. The department offers many job oriented and currently relevant subjects such as Journalism and Mass Communication and Dramatics at the Undergraduate level and Computer in Tamil Research and Linguistics, Folkloristics and Modern Christian Literature at the Postgraduate level. The department also offers Tamil language under Foundation Courses, Basic Tamil for students who have not studied Tamil and Advanced Tamil for students (who have done +2 Tamil) not studying Tamil under Part-1.


  • The book "Miller ennum Mamanither" translated by Dr. Y. Gnana Chandra Johnson, Associate Professor, was released on 7 January 2012 by Dr. Besant C. Raj, the Chairperson of the MCC Association and the first copy was received by Very Rev. Canon Ivor Smith-Cameron, the former chaplain to the Queen of England.
  • Dr. Moses Michael Faraday has been honored by the CSI Madras Diocese as one among the ten living Tamil Christian Scholars.
  • The Department organized a one day symposium on "Panmozhi Pulavar Ka. Appadurai" in collaboration with Sahitya Academy and the National Academy of Letters, Government of India.
  • Dr. P. David Prabhakar visited the University of Cologne, Germany and presented a paper on "Computer Analysis of Tamil Verbs" in the 8th Tamil Internet Conference held at the University in October 2009.


Programmes Offered: B.A., M.A., M.Phil. Ph.D



 Dr.P.David Prabakar  Dr.P.George  Dr.N.Ilango  Dr.Y.Paul prabu santhraj
 P. David Prabhakar
Head of the Department
 P. George
Associate Professor
 N. Ilango
Associate Professor
 Y. Paul Prabu Santharaj
Assistant Professor
Dr.D.Meshak   Dr.N.Kanikkaraju  Dr.J.Sudarvizhi Dr.S.Sathasivam 
D. Meshak
Assistant Professor
N. Kannikka Raju
Assistant Professor
J. Sudarvizhi 
Assistant Professor
S. Sathasivam
Assistant Professor
 T.Sebulon prabudurai  Dr. Muthukandhan
T. Sebulon 
Assistant Professor
S. Muthukandhan
Assistant Professor